Explanation of Film Classifications

U 'U'

The 'U' symbol stands for Universal. A 'U' film should be suitable for audiences aged four years and over. However, it is impossible to predict what might upset a particular child, especially at this lower end of the category range.


'PG' stands for Parental Guidance. This means a film is suitable for general viewing, but some scenes may be unsuitable for young children. A 'PG' film should not unsettle a child aged around eight or older. Parents should consider whether the content may upset younger, or more sensitive, children.

12A '12A'

Films classified '12A' contain material that is not generally suitable for children aged under 12. No one younger than 12 may see a '12A' film in a cinema unless accompanied by an adult. Adults planning to take a child under 12 to view a '12A' film should consider whether the film is suitable for that child. To help them decide, we recommend that they check the BBFCinsight for that film in advance.

15 '15'

No-one under 15 is allowed to see a '15' film at the cinema or buy/rent a 15 rated video. 15 rated works are not suitable for children under 15 years of age.

18 '18'

Films rated 18 are for adults. No-one under 18 is allowed to see an '18' film at the cinema or buy / rent an '18' rated video.

For more information, visit the BBFC website - bbfc.co.uk